Article Image Alt Text

LSU has 4 players named to watch list

If and when the LSU Tiger football team takes to the field this season, they will most definitely have one of the top defenses in the country.
To prove that, four of their top defensive players have been named to national watch lists.
As of Monday morning defensive backs Jacoby Stevens and Derek Stingley were placed on the Jim Thorpe watch list. Three former LSU players have won the award including Patrick Peterson, Morris Claiborne and Grant Delpit.
Stevens was second on the team with 92 tackles last season, while Stingley led the SEC with six interceptions.
Also on Monday, linebackers Damone Clark and Jabril Cox were named to the Butkus award watch list. The only LSU Tiger to ever win the prestigious award was Devin White in 2018.
Clark played in all 15 games last year, collecting 50 tackles and 3.5 sacks. Clark started three games for LSU.
Cox is a transfer from North Dakota State where he was a two-time All-American.

Evangeline Today

145 Court St.
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-3939
Fax: 337-363-2841