April 24, 1969- Gazette editor Sidney Mixon and Managing Editor Johnnie Quinn admire the awards won by the Ville Platte paper in the Better Newspaper Contests at the Louisiana Press Association convention in New Orleans last Friday. The Gazette placed first in General Excellence and third in best use of color in competition with numerous weekly newspapers throughout Louisiana.

Looking Back: April 1959, 1969, and 1979

April 2, 1959

The Diocese of Lafayette’s High School Principal of the Year Dawn Shipp (left) and Elementary Principal of the Year Virginia Morein (right) are pictured here standing in front of the Sacred Heart of Jesus statue located in the high school foyer. (Gazette photo by Tony Marks)

Sacred Heart principals named principals of the year

Over the past several years, curriculum and religious formation have undergone changes at both Sacred Heart Elementary and Sacred Heart High School that have resulted in the students becoming more

Pictured here is outgoing Miss Boggy Bayou Laken Victoria Grouvillia (right) as she crowns Pine Prairie native Joey West (left) as Boggy Bayou King. (All Gazette photos by Elizabeth West)

Boggy Bayou Queen Riane Elizabeth Motty

Ms. Boggy Bayou Queen Jenny Foreman

Motty crowned 35th Boggy Bayou Queen; Foreman awarded Ms. title at annual festival

Both of the newly crowned Boggy Bayou royalty have deeply rooted connections to the Pine Prairie area which allow them to best exemplify what the festival means not only to the community but to als

Fay Barzare, first runner-up Averie Perkins, second runner-up Emberlyn Rose Manuel. Not pictured are photogenic and director’s choice winner Audrey Phillips, and prettiest hair winner Gracie Hebert.

BABY MISTER COURT - From left to right are King Kayson Cortina, first runner-up Dex Taylor Hebert, and second runner-up Weston Chaisson.

MINI MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Alirrah Nicole Tezeno, first runner-up Jolie Claire Deville, and second runner-up Averie Essie James. Not pictured is most photogenic, director’s choice, and prettiest eyes winner Emma Grace Stelly.

TINY MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Isabella Denise Wiseman, first runner-up Amelia Wall, and second runner-up Adelynn Renee Crader.

PETITE MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Olivia Jayde Hazelton, first runner-up Emma Nicole Andrus, second runner-up Ava Grace Willis, and prettiest hair winner Rae’Lynn Beasley.

LITTLE MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Layla Faith Mulligan, first runner-up Kamryn Jayde Hebert, second runner-up Skylar Alyce’ Chalmers, and prettiest eyes winner Breonia Ann Messer. Not pictured prettiest hair and best fashion winner Alayah Robinson.

DEB MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Jocelyn Marie Chalmers, first runner-up Rylee Clark, and second runner-up Abigail Lynette Hazelton. Not pictured are prettiest eyes winner Nelle Rose Redmond and prettiest hair and best fashion winner Meadow Monier.

JUNIOR MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Alexis Jaden Bordelon, first runner-up Chalie Soileau, and second runner-up Londyn Grace Coleman. Not pictured is director’s choice winner Victoria Chaddrick.

TEEN MISS COURT - From left to right are Queen Gabbie Lynn Dardeau, first runner-up Gracie Marie Couvillion, and second runner-up Aubrey Claire Fuselier. Not pictured is prettiest hair winner Torie Angelle Fontenot. (All photos by Mable Foreman)

2019 Boggy Bayou Festival youth royalty crowned

New queens and kings were selected on Saturday, March 30, at the 2019 Boggy Bayou Youth Pageant.


Evangeline Today

145 Court St.
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-3939
Fax: 337-363-2841