Vidrine, Fontenot re-elected as mayor; Zackery and Perdices earn spot in police chief runoff

Below are the unofficial results for the November 6th elections in Evangeline Parish:

City of Ville Platte
Ville Platte Mayor Jennifer Vidrine was reelected with a total of 1,806 votes. Her opponent, Kevin LaFleur, received a total of 696 votes.
In the City of Ville Platte Alderman races, Faye Lemoine (275 votes) defeated incumbent, C.J. Dardeau, (113 votes) in District A, Lionel Anderson (239 votes) defeated Vashanski “Shanky” Thomas (188 votes) in District D, incumbent Donald Ray Sam (281 votes) defeated Lucian J. McKinney Jr. (191 votes) in District E, and incumbent Bryant Riggs (225 votes) defeated Kathan Arvie (103 votes) in District F.
In the chief of police’s race, incumbent Neal Lartigue was re-elected over Linton Fontenot by a vote of 1,480 to 1,068.

Village of Chataignier
In the Village of Chataignier, residents will welcome a new mayor come January after Justin Darbonne defeated incumbent “Jackie” Malveaux-Thomas by a vote of 107 to 52.
The village will also see a change in its council next year. The top three vote getters were Carilyn “Tu” Arvie (112 votes), Debra Fontenot (90 votes) and John B. Brasseaux (60 votes.) Incumbent Joseph H. Simien, who received a total of 54 votes Tuesday night, fell six votes shy of re-election.

Town of Mamou
Ricky Fontenot was re-elected as mayor in the Town of Mamou with a total of 702 votes. He defeated Gerald J. Fontenot (359 votes) and David Charlie (60 votes).
In Mamou’s Chief of Police race, incumbent Brent Zackery and Charles Perdices will be in a runoff after Zackery fell nine votes short of winning re-election Tuesday. In total, Zackery received 571 votes, while Perdices received 312, Michael Thomas received 218 and Michael “Gorilla” Fruge received 50. The runoff election will be Saturday, December 8th.
For Alderman of District 1 in Mamou, Derrell “Sheaky” Thomas, with a total of 198 votes, defeated incumbent Freddie Matthew, who received 143 votes. In District 2, Brook Chapman defeated Clayton “Tiny” McGee by a vote of 133 to 94. In District 3, incumbent Charles Reed won re-elected against Glyn Brunet by a vote of 148 to 104.

Town of Basile
In the Town of Basile, long time police chief, Allen Ivory Jr., was re-elected with a total of 219 votes. Ivory won re-election over Gregory James (112 votes) and Nicholas Richardson (84 votes).
Catina Molitor-Hebert was elected as Alderman at Large in Basile by a vote of 238 to Travis W. Deshotel’s 157 votes. In the District 2 Aldermen race in Basile, three of four individuals running were elected. The top vote getting was Bron Dubroc with 214 votes, followed by Kenny A. Burgess with 181 votes and Kristy Miller with 174 votes. The fourth candidate, Caleb Delafosse, received 129 votes.

Evangeline Parish School Board
In school board races, incumbent Karen Vidrine defeated Ted Soileau by a vote of 451 to 271 for Evangeline Parish School Board Member for District 3, incumbent Arthur Savoy defeated Maggie Ortego by a vote of 599 to 435 for District 10, Ellis Guillory defeated Cavlin Leday by a vote of 303 to 287 for District 12, and incumbent Georgianna L. Wilson defeated Chris Guillory by a vote of 465 to 435 for District 13.

U.S. Representative - 4th Congressional District
Mike Johnson earned a whopping 72 percent of the vote in Evangeline Parish in the U.S. Representative race for the 4th Congressional District. In total he received 7,072 votes, while his opponents Mark David Halverson received 246 and Ryan Trundle received 2,537.

Louisiana Secretary of State
The top vote getters in Evangeline Parish in the Louisiana Secretary of State race were Kyle Ardoin (3,129 votes) and Heather Cloud (2,972). At 10:45 p.m. on Tuesday, Kyle Ardoin led the secretary of state race with 21 percent of the vote statewide, while Gwen Collins-Greenup was in second with 20 pct., and Renee Fontenot Free in third with 16 pct. It appears a runoff will be required in this race, and will take place on December 8th.

Proposition and Amendments
Evangeline Parish voters voted in favor of the following proposition and amendments on the Nov. 6th ballot:
PW Fantasy Sports -- Authorize Fantasy Sports Contests - Act 322, 2018.
CA NO. 1 (ACT 719 - SB 31) -- Prohibit felon from public office.
CA NO. 2 (ACT 722 - SB 243) -- Unanimous jury for noncapital felonies.
CA NO. 3 (ACT 717 - SB 263) -- Permit donations from political subdivisions.
CA NO. 4 (ACT 720 - SB 59) -- Transportation Trust Fund.
CA NO. 5 (ACT 721 - SB 163) -- Extend eligibility for tax exemptions.
Voters in Evangeline Parish only voted against one amendment, which was CA NO. 6 (ACT 718 - SB 164) -- Reappraisal of residential property.

Evangeline Today

145 Court St.
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-3939
Fax: 337-363-2841